Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Tuckman's Model

The 5 Stages of Group Development.

View video:

The development of groups over the lifespan of the group.

Tuckman’s Model – 5 Stages of Team Development and Practical Limitations:

  • Login to see the comments

Tuckman's Model

  1. 1. Tuckman’s Model The 5 Stages of Group Development
  2. 2. What is it? A model showing how groups develop over the lifespan of the group
  3. 3. 5 Stages of Group Development 1. Forming 2. Storming 3. Norming 4. Performing 5. Adjourning
  4. 4. The productivity of the group fluctuates over time as the group passes through each stage or phase
  5. 5. FORMING: The initial group development stage where the group members are first getting to know each other, and they lay down the foundations for the group. It is a bit of a honeymoon period in the group’s interaction. FORMING
  6. 6. STORMING STORMING: The friendly façade begins to wear off and the group may face interpersonal issues and conflicts. If not controlled, open hostility may occur. The group is resisting and testing boundaries.
  7. 7. NORMING NORMING: The begins to unify in this stage. Much of the resistance should be gone and the group is becoming more comfortable with each other.
  8. 8. PERFORMING PERFORMING: The group should be at the height of productivity and the only conflicts are constructive and necessary. The group is functioning as a cohesive unit.
  9. 9. ADJOURNING ADJOURNING: This is the final stage. The group is wrapping up and saying their goodbyes. Members should be recognized for the contribution to the group.
  10. 10. Tuckman’s Model Joshua Render