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Quantify Your Social Media
 Efforts to Measure ROI
      Sarah McMaster
        March 22, 2013
Strategy:
Creating the Path of Least Resistance
      Social Media

        Landing Page Visit

          Inquiry (Lead)

            Applicant (Conversion)

               Enrollee (ROI)
Strategy:
Creating the Path of Least Resistance
      Social Media

        Engagement

           Connection to Resources

             More Engagement
                Student Retention &
                Success (ROI)
Measurement Tools & Tactics
β€’ HootSuite, Tweetdeck, CrowdBooster, Klout
β€’ Google Analytics
  – Event Tracking, Goal Setting
β€’ Facebook Insights
β€’ Spreadsheets
β€’ Online Forms
β€’ Vanity URLs and Landing Pages
Key Metrics

β€’   Social Media Amplification
β€’   Social Media Applause Rate
β€’   Conversion Rates
β€’   Cost Per Inquiry
β€’   Student Lifetime Value
Social Media Amplification

 π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ π‘†π‘•π‘Žπ‘Ÿπ‘’π‘  (π‘Ÿπ‘’π‘‘π‘€π‘’π‘’π‘‘π‘ , π‘ π‘•π‘Žπ‘Ÿπ‘’π‘ , π‘Ÿπ‘’π‘π‘œπ‘ π‘‘π‘ )
          π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ π‘ƒπ‘œπ‘ π‘‘π‘ , 𝑇𝑀𝑒𝑒𝑑𝑠



  If you have 70 shares
   for every 300 posts,
your amplification is 23%.
Social Media Applause Rate

                 π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ πΉπ‘Žπ‘£π‘œπ‘Ÿπ‘–π‘‘π‘’π‘ , πΏπ‘–π‘˜π‘’π‘ 
                     π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ π‘ƒπ‘œπ‘ π‘‘π‘ 



If, for every 30 posts, 5 are liked,
  you have a 16% applause rate
Social Media Conversion Rate
π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ 𝐴𝑒𝑑𝑖𝑒𝑛𝑐𝑒 πΆπ‘œπ‘šπ‘šπ‘’π‘›π‘‘π‘  π‘œπ‘Ÿ 𝑅𝑒𝑝𝑙𝑖𝑒𝑠
           π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ π‘ƒπ‘œπ‘ π‘‘π‘ 
                                     Engagement

      If, for every 70 posts,
   you receive 15 comments,
          you have a 21%
  social media conversion rate
Social Media Conversion Rate 2
           π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ π‘†π‘œπ‘π‘–π‘Žπ‘™ π‘€π‘’π‘‘π‘–π‘Ž πΏπ‘–π‘›π‘˜ πΆπ‘™π‘–π‘π‘˜π‘ 
           π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ π‘†π‘œπ‘π‘–π‘Žπ‘™ π‘€π‘’π‘‘π‘–π‘Ž πΏπ‘–π‘›π‘˜ 𝑉𝑖𝑒𝑀𝑠




   If, for every 200 views, there are 5
clicks, you have a 2.5% conversion rate
Landing Page Conversion Rate
                 πΆπ‘Žπ‘™π‘™ π‘‘π‘œ π΄π‘π‘‘π‘–π‘œπ‘› πΆπ‘œπ‘šπ‘π‘™π‘’π‘‘π‘–π‘œπ‘›π‘ 
                   π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ π‘ƒπ‘Žπ‘”π‘’ 𝑉𝑖𝑠𝑖𝑑𝑠




If, for every 150 visits, 7 calls to
action are completed, you have
      a 4.6% conversion rate
Cost Per Inquiry
π‘ƒπ‘’π‘Ÿπ‘ π‘œπ‘›π‘›π‘’π‘™ + π‘…π‘’π‘π‘Ÿπ‘’π‘–π‘‘π‘šπ‘’π‘›π‘‘ π‘‚π‘£π‘’π‘Ÿπ‘•π‘’π‘Žπ‘‘ + π‘€π‘Žπ‘Ÿπ‘˜π‘’π‘‘π‘–π‘›π‘” 𝐴𝑐𝑑𝑖𝑣𝑖𝑑𝑦
                 π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ πΌπ‘›π‘žπ‘’π‘–π‘Ÿπ‘–π‘’π‘ 


Personnel = $30/hour x 15 hours
Recruitment Overhead= $170
Marketing Activity= $1,500 Facebook Contest
Number of Inquiries = 260
Cost of Inquiry = $8.15
Student Lifetime Value (SLV)
        πΆπ‘œπ‘ π‘‘ π‘ƒπ‘’π‘Ÿ πΆπ‘Ÿπ‘’π‘‘π‘–π‘‘ π»π‘œπ‘’π‘Ÿ π‘₯ π΄π‘£π‘’π‘Ÿπ‘Žπ‘”π‘’ πΆπ‘œπ‘’π‘Ÿπ‘ π‘’ πΏπ‘œπ‘Žπ‘‘
                             x
               π΄π‘£π‘’π‘Ÿπ‘Žπ‘”π‘’ π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ π‘†π‘’π‘šπ‘’π‘ π‘‘π‘’π‘Ÿπ‘ 



($215 x 14) x 4 =
$12,040 Student Lifetime Value (SLV)
Full Circle: ROI
β€œOur March 2013 Facebook contest
increased online engagement by 7%,
brought 3,027 visitors to our targeted
landing page, converted 9% into
admissions leads and resulted in 7 new
enrollments with a 400% ROI on the
initial investment, at a lower cost per
inquiry than our concurrent direct mail
campaign”.
                  -Fictional Marketing Superstar
Sarah McMaster
      Director of New Media
Mount Wachusett Community College

     smcmaster@mwcc.mass.edu
  linkedin.com/in/sarahmcmaster/
             @Sarah_Mc

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Quantify Your Social Media Efforts To Measure ROI, Sarah McMaster

  • 1. Quantify Your Social Media Efforts to Measure ROI Sarah McMaster March 22, 2013
  • 2. Strategy: Creating the Path of Least Resistance Social Media Landing Page Visit Inquiry (Lead) Applicant (Conversion) Enrollee (ROI)
  • 3. Strategy: Creating the Path of Least Resistance Social Media Engagement Connection to Resources More Engagement Student Retention & Success (ROI)
  • 4. Measurement Tools & Tactics β€’ HootSuite, Tweetdeck, CrowdBooster, Klout β€’ Google Analytics – Event Tracking, Goal Setting β€’ Facebook Insights β€’ Spreadsheets β€’ Online Forms β€’ Vanity URLs and Landing Pages
  • 5. Key Metrics β€’ Social Media Amplification β€’ Social Media Applause Rate β€’ Conversion Rates β€’ Cost Per Inquiry β€’ Student Lifetime Value
  • 6. Social Media Amplification π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ π‘†π‘•π‘Žπ‘Ÿπ‘’π‘  (π‘Ÿπ‘’π‘‘π‘€π‘’π‘’π‘‘π‘ , π‘ π‘•π‘Žπ‘Ÿπ‘’π‘ , π‘Ÿπ‘’π‘π‘œπ‘ π‘‘π‘ ) π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ π‘ƒπ‘œπ‘ π‘‘π‘ , 𝑇𝑀𝑒𝑒𝑑𝑠 If you have 70 shares for every 300 posts, your amplification is 23%.
  • 7. Social Media Applause Rate π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ πΉπ‘Žπ‘£π‘œπ‘Ÿπ‘–π‘‘π‘’π‘ , πΏπ‘–π‘˜π‘’π‘  π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ π‘ƒπ‘œπ‘ π‘‘π‘  If, for every 30 posts, 5 are liked, you have a 16% applause rate
  • 8. Social Media Conversion Rate π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ 𝐴𝑒𝑑𝑖𝑒𝑛𝑐𝑒 πΆπ‘œπ‘šπ‘šπ‘’π‘›π‘‘π‘  π‘œπ‘Ÿ 𝑅𝑒𝑝𝑙𝑖𝑒𝑠 π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ π‘ƒπ‘œπ‘ π‘‘π‘  Engagement If, for every 70 posts, you receive 15 comments, you have a 21% social media conversion rate
  • 9. Social Media Conversion Rate 2 π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ π‘†π‘œπ‘π‘–π‘Žπ‘™ π‘€π‘’π‘‘π‘–π‘Ž πΏπ‘–π‘›π‘˜ πΆπ‘™π‘–π‘π‘˜π‘  π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ π‘†π‘œπ‘π‘–π‘Žπ‘™ π‘€π‘’π‘‘π‘–π‘Ž πΏπ‘–π‘›π‘˜ 𝑉𝑖𝑒𝑀𝑠 If, for every 200 views, there are 5 clicks, you have a 2.5% conversion rate
  • 10. Landing Page Conversion Rate πΆπ‘Žπ‘™π‘™ π‘‘π‘œ π΄π‘π‘‘π‘–π‘œπ‘› πΆπ‘œπ‘šπ‘π‘™π‘’π‘‘π‘–π‘œπ‘›π‘  π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ π‘ƒπ‘Žπ‘”π‘’ 𝑉𝑖𝑠𝑖𝑑𝑠 If, for every 150 visits, 7 calls to action are completed, you have a 4.6% conversion rate
  • 11. Cost Per Inquiry π‘ƒπ‘’π‘Ÿπ‘ π‘œπ‘›π‘›π‘’π‘™ + π‘…π‘’π‘π‘Ÿπ‘’π‘–π‘‘π‘šπ‘’π‘›π‘‘ π‘‚π‘£π‘’π‘Ÿπ‘•π‘’π‘Žπ‘‘ + π‘€π‘Žπ‘Ÿπ‘˜π‘’π‘‘π‘–π‘›π‘” 𝐴𝑐𝑑𝑖𝑣𝑖𝑑𝑦 π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ πΌπ‘›π‘žπ‘’π‘–π‘Ÿπ‘–π‘’π‘  Personnel = $30/hour x 15 hours Recruitment Overhead= $170 Marketing Activity= $1,500 Facebook Contest Number of Inquiries = 260 Cost of Inquiry = $8.15
  • 12. Student Lifetime Value (SLV) πΆπ‘œπ‘ π‘‘ π‘ƒπ‘’π‘Ÿ πΆπ‘Ÿπ‘’π‘‘π‘–π‘‘ π»π‘œπ‘’π‘Ÿ π‘₯ π΄π‘£π‘’π‘Ÿπ‘Žπ‘”π‘’ πΆπ‘œπ‘’π‘Ÿπ‘ π‘’ πΏπ‘œπ‘Žπ‘‘ x π΄π‘£π‘’π‘Ÿπ‘Žπ‘”π‘’ π‘π‘’π‘šπ‘π‘’π‘Ÿ π‘œπ‘“ π‘†π‘’π‘šπ‘’π‘ π‘‘π‘’π‘Ÿπ‘  ($215 x 14) x 4 = $12,040 Student Lifetime Value (SLV)
  • 13. Full Circle: ROI β€œOur March 2013 Facebook contest increased online engagement by 7%, brought 3,027 visitors to our targeted landing page, converted 9% into admissions leads and resulted in 7 new enrollments with a 400% ROI on the initial investment, at a lower cost per inquiry than our concurrent direct mail campaign”. -Fictional Marketing Superstar
  • 14. Sarah McMaster Director of New Media Mount Wachusett Community College smcmaster@mwcc.mass.edu linkedin.com/in/sarahmcmaster/ @Sarah_Mc