Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Stages of change


Published on

Lifestyle change demands an understanding of the stages of change. Not only the person need to understand the stages of change but also the coach need to be fully aware of these stages in order for them to be effective. The resistance to change is sure a real stumbling block to our new evolution toward our journey

  • Login to see the comments

Stages of change

  1. 1. Stages of Change
  2. 2.  Precontemplation Contemplation Preparation Action Maintenance & relapse prevention
  3. 3.  Have you ever noticed that what works for some people when they make a change in their life may not work for you? Most people move through a series of five stages of readiness as they change behaviors. What helps someone in one stage may not work for someone in another stage.
  4. 4.  Effort and commitment is needed in all stages. You will move through each stage as you are ready to change. You may not always move forward in a straight line. There will be times when you lapse, going back to an earlier stage. The time will come when you are ready to advance forward.  This is expected and part of the process of adopting new behaviors.  You will progress when you are ready.
  5. 5.  The stages are:  Not ready for change  Thinking about change  Preparing for action  Taking action  Maintaining a good thing Set your own goals accordingly!
  6. 6.  Instages too, so congratulate yourself with every small goal – and keep going!