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5 Ways Display, Facebook 
Ads & Remarketing Will 
Open New Revenue Streams 
By Benoît Gaillard, WSI - Switzerland
ABOUT WSI 
Global Leader in Digital Marketing 
Global Knowledge. Local Results. 
• Provide advanced digital marketing solutions 
• Businesses of all sizes and industries 
• World’s largest network of Internet Consultants 
• Service more than 80 
countries internationally 
• Industry winning solutions 
• Corporate head office 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. 
in Toronto, Canada
ABOUT THE PRESENTER 
PROFESSIONAL BACKGROUND 
• FMCG Brand Management 
• P&G, Coca-Cola/Nestlé 
RECENT PUBLICATIONS & AWARDS 
• Digital Minds – Display and retargeting chapters 
• Facebook Smart Advertising 
MEMBERSHIPS & CERTIFICATIONS 
• WSI Top Gun 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. 
/WSIBusinessPerformance 
ch.linkedin.com/in/ 
gaillardinternetmarketin 
g
Why Should I Worry About Display 
“99% of our top 1,000 clients are 
now running campaigns on the 
Google Display Network and 
YouTube.” Google Benchmarks 
and Insights) 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Why Should I Worry About Display 
• 80% of time spent on line 
Search 
5% 
Commerce 
14% 
Communication 
(Email & IM) 
27% 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. 
Surf 
(content) 
42% 
Social 
(community) 
12% 
SURF 
SEARCH 
SOCIAL
Is Facebook The New Google For 
Your Business? 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Open Up New Revenue Streams 
• Support your prospect throughout the 
purchase decision cycle 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. 
Awareness 
• Increase visibility 
• Targeted advertising 
Compare 
• Remain top of mind 
• Communicate USP 
Purchase 
• Advertise a deal 
• Personalized advertising
Display You Say? 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Display Placement Opportunities 
• Banners on websites 
• Gmail 
• Blogger 
• YouTube 
• Facebook 
• Yahoo 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Display Format Opportunities 
Display banners: visual, text, video 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Display Format : YouTube 
Before videos Beside videos 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. 
Beside videos 
In the search results 
In the search results
Display Format: Facebook 
• Facebook 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. 
Photo courtesy of mashable
Display Format: Mobile 
• More creativity leveraging geolocation, 
native app functionality, smartphone 
features 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
5 Ways To Open Up New Revenue Streams! 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
1. Trigger Impulse Purchase 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Product And Services That Are Not 
Searched For 
• All men use razors, few search for it 
• How do you get your innovation across? 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Why Should I Give You A Click? 
It Is Not About The Features! 
Thanks to adespresso.com for bringing this thought to life! 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Connect Emotionally 
• ‘deep human drivers’ model 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Connect emotionally 
§ 
Pleasure of falling 
asleep in freshly cut 
grass 
BBQ with friends this 
week. Welcome them 
with a perfect grass 
Insure your grass is always 
impeccable 
Your neighbour will 
be jealous of your 
perfect grass
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. 
BBQ this weekend? 
No worry, Miimo 
takes care of me!
2. Display Retargeting Increases 
ROI Of Search 
Do you spend on Google AdWords? You should spend on 
display retargeting! 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Easier To Bring Back A Visitor Than 
To Attract A New Visitor 
100 visits 
5 customers 95 still thinking 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. 
Banners 
Facebook
Increase your search PPC 
ROI by > 40%! 
• Focus on acquisition ROI 1:1 
• Spend to acquire new visits: 100 visits + 1$ per click = 
100$ 
• 5% of visitors convert = 5 sales = 5*20$ profit = 100$ 
profit = breakeven 
• Add retargeting ROI 1:2 
• 95% of visitors leave the website but keep on surfing 
comparing offers 
• Bring 10% of them back for a fraction of the cost = 10 
visitors * 2$/click = 25$ 
• Convert 20% of visitors your brought back = 2 sales = 
2*20$ = 40$ profit 
• ROI total 1:1.4 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
3. Advertise To Audiences / Personas 
Real-Time Bidding (RTB) 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Why Is The Traditional Display 
Model Broken? 
• For advertisers: buy all impressions at the 
same price independently from the value 
of the user targeted 
• For large publishers: up to 70% of website 
inventory is not sold, 30% sold on ‘premium’ 
• For small publishers: no market place to sell 
their quality thematic inventory 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
The RTB revolution 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
The RTB revolution 
• For advertisers: 
• Buy impressions based on the value of a given 
audience 
• Increase your reach 
• Better control of frequency 
• Better CPM 
• Personalization of message 
• For publishers: 
• Maximize use of their inventory 
• Always sell to the best price offered 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Acquisition 3rd Party Data 
Engagement 
score 
ADULT 25-45 
STUDY 
LIFESTYLE 
HOBBY 
INCOME 
TARGETED 
AUDIENCE 
AUDIENCE PROVIDER 
MARKET INTEREST 
DEMOGRAPHIC DATA 
BUYING INTENTIONS 
LOOK-A-LIKE 
DATA SOURCE 
Nouveau 
x visiteurs
Acquisition Targeting 
Nouveau 
x visiteurs 
ANALYZE KEYWORDS 
ON TARGET LANDING 
PAGE 
Leverage your 
search insights for 
display! 
• Focus 
• Exclusion
Acquisition Targeting By Category 
(Ron) 
RON 
SPORT 
TRAVEL 
ART 
YOUR TARGET INTERESTS 
MATCH WITH WEBSITE 
THEMATIC
Be Relevant! 
Your Site
Geo-localized Advertising 
Advertise to mobile users 
within 5km of grill truck 
Mobile app guides you to 
the nearest grill truck
Case Study: Retargeting + RTB + Facebook 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Jewelry Online Sales
Retargeting RTB: Facebook Ad 
Exchange vs. Ron 
106 -54% +184% 
1CHF 
invested CPM Conversion 
rate 
‘Those strong results drove 
increased spending online for 
year-end sales.’
4. Think Visual First! 
Insert Section Header Sub-Title Here 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Picture Connects On Mobile 
• 66% of social media usage 
happens on mobile 
• Communicate in 5x10 
• You scan vs. read a 
facebook/linkedin feed on 
mobile 
• Pictures are the trigger to 
stop, engage
Picture Marketing Examples 
Slimming 
Winner!
Picture Marketing Jewelry 
Winner: mobile 
Winner: laptop
Picture Marketing: Execution 
Matters 
If you had invested 6000$ on one of those visuals, you would 
have achieved: 
Nb of fans Nb of social 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. 
actions
Picture Marketing - eCommerce 
• Back to basics – show the product, show 
the offer 
NOT GOOD GOOD BETTER 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
5. Stay Ahead Of Competition 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Facebook Smart Advertising 
bit.ly/Facebook-advertising 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Conversion Attribution 
EXPOSITIONS 
1ère 2ème 3ème 4èm 
e 
% TOTAL 
CONV. 
5ème Dernière SCORE EXP. CONV CA 
PANIER 
MOYEN LATENCE 
24 
47 
11 
31 
29 
52 
33 
30 
1 32621 
1 
1 
2 
2 
5 
5 
2 
41 5 
31954 
27306 
8262 
8158 
7047 
4706 
4448 
4258 
15.8% 
15.5% 
13.2% 
4.0% 
3.9% 
3.4% 
2.3% 
2.1% 
2.0% 
€15,574,287 
€8,082,003 
€5,623,525 
€2,809,245 
€1,691,747 
€1,574,267 
€903,684 
€840,784 
€477 0.56 
€252 
€205 
€340 
€207 
€223 
€194 
€203 
€811,950 €197 
0.53 
0.50 
1.76 
0.64 
1.88 
4.22 
2.12 
1.56 
PAID SEARCH ORGANIC SEARCH SEM Hors-Marque SEM Marque DISPLAY RREEMMAARRKKEETTIINNGG SSOOCCIIAALL 
INVEST BASED ON FIRST OR LAST CLICK? WHICH KPI TO ASSESS ROI?
Smart Retargeting – Measure 
Engagement 
45 
43% Produit A 
30% Produit B 
27% Produit C 
TIME SPENT 
VALUE 
FREQUENCY 
REFERRAL 
CRM 
PAGE VIEWS 
850 
SCORE
Smart Remarketing – Dynamic CPM 
46 
Engagement 
score 
BID: 
€3 
BID: €2,1 
BID: €1 
850 
SCORE 
735 
SCORE 
690 
SCORE
Cross Device Tracking 
• No cookie on Mobile devices 
• Yet more and more search and surf on 
mobile 
• Use predictive tracking and master Id 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Marketing Automation 
• Personalize advertising banner 
• Personalize website offers 
• Trigger emails based on website behavior 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
How Can WSI Help? 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Plan Display Strategically 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Create Ads, Purchase Media, 
Optimize Bidding, Consolidate 
Reporting 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
Are You Spending $ On Google AdWords? 
You Should Be Spending On Display! 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
QUESTIONS & ANSWERS 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
WE WROTE THE BOOK ON THIS 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. 
• Get Your Copy! 
http://bit.ly/WSIDigitalMindsBook
THANKS FOR ATTENDING! 
©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.

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Open up new revenue streams with Display and Facebook advertising, Retargeting

  • 1. 5 Ways Display, Facebook Ads & Remarketing Will Open New Revenue Streams By Benoît Gaillard, WSI - Switzerland
  • 2. ABOUT WSI Global Leader in Digital Marketing Global Knowledge. Local Results. • Provide advanced digital marketing solutions • Businesses of all sizes and industries • World’s largest network of Internet Consultants • Service more than 80 countries internationally • Industry winning solutions • Corporate head office ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. in Toronto, Canada
  • 3. ABOUT THE PRESENTER PROFESSIONAL BACKGROUND • FMCG Brand Management • P&G, Coca-Cola/Nestlé RECENT PUBLICATIONS & AWARDS • Digital Minds – Display and retargeting chapters • Facebook Smart Advertising MEMBERSHIPS & CERTIFICATIONS • WSI Top Gun ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. /WSIBusinessPerformance ch.linkedin.com/in/ gaillardinternetmarketin g
  • 4. Why Should I Worry About Display “99% of our top 1,000 clients are now running campaigns on the Google Display Network and YouTube.” Google Benchmarks and Insights) ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 5. Why Should I Worry About Display • 80% of time spent on line Search 5% Commerce 14% Communication (Email & IM) 27% ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. Surf (content) 42% Social (community) 12% SURF SEARCH SOCIAL
  • 6. Is Facebook The New Google For Your Business? ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 7. Open Up New Revenue Streams • Support your prospect throughout the purchase decision cycle ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. Awareness • Increase visibility • Targeted advertising Compare • Remain top of mind • Communicate USP Purchase • Advertise a deal • Personalized advertising
  • 8. Display You Say? ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 9. Display Placement Opportunities • Banners on websites • Gmail • Blogger • YouTube • Facebook • Yahoo ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 10. Display Format Opportunities Display banners: visual, text, video ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 11. Display Format : YouTube Before videos Beside videos ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. Beside videos In the search results In the search results
  • 12. Display Format: Facebook • Facebook ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. Photo courtesy of mashable
  • 13. Display Format: Mobile • More creativity leveraging geolocation, native app functionality, smartphone features ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 14. 5 Ways To Open Up New Revenue Streams! ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 15. 1. Trigger Impulse Purchase ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 16. Product And Services That Are Not Searched For • All men use razors, few search for it • How do you get your innovation across? ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 17. Why Should I Give You A Click? It Is Not About The Features! Thanks to adespresso.com for bringing this thought to life! ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 18. Connect Emotionally • ‘deep human drivers’ model ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 19. Connect emotionally § Pleasure of falling asleep in freshly cut grass BBQ with friends this week. Welcome them with a perfect grass Insure your grass is always impeccable Your neighbour will be jealous of your perfect grass
  • 20. ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. BBQ this weekend? No worry, Miimo takes care of me!
  • 21. 2. Display Retargeting Increases ROI Of Search Do you spend on Google AdWords? You should spend on display retargeting! ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 22. Easier To Bring Back A Visitor Than To Attract A New Visitor 100 visits 5 customers 95 still thinking ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. Banners Facebook
  • 23. Increase your search PPC ROI by > 40%! • Focus on acquisition ROI 1:1 • Spend to acquire new visits: 100 visits + 1$ per click = 100$ • 5% of visitors convert = 5 sales = 5*20$ profit = 100$ profit = breakeven • Add retargeting ROI 1:2 • 95% of visitors leave the website but keep on surfing comparing offers • Bring 10% of them back for a fraction of the cost = 10 visitors * 2$/click = 25$ • Convert 20% of visitors your brought back = 2 sales = 2*20$ = 40$ profit • ROI total 1:1.4 ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 24. 3. Advertise To Audiences / Personas Real-Time Bidding (RTB) ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 25. Why Is The Traditional Display Model Broken? • For advertisers: buy all impressions at the same price independently from the value of the user targeted • For large publishers: up to 70% of website inventory is not sold, 30% sold on ‘premium’ • For small publishers: no market place to sell their quality thematic inventory ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 26. The RTB revolution ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 27. The RTB revolution • For advertisers: • Buy impressions based on the value of a given audience • Increase your reach • Better control of frequency • Better CPM • Personalization of message • For publishers: • Maximize use of their inventory • Always sell to the best price offered ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 28. Acquisition 3rd Party Data Engagement score ADULT 25-45 STUDY LIFESTYLE HOBBY INCOME TARGETED AUDIENCE AUDIENCE PROVIDER MARKET INTEREST DEMOGRAPHIC DATA BUYING INTENTIONS LOOK-A-LIKE DATA SOURCE Nouveau x visiteurs
  • 29. Acquisition Targeting Nouveau x visiteurs ANALYZE KEYWORDS ON TARGET LANDING PAGE Leverage your search insights for display! • Focus • Exclusion
  • 30. Acquisition Targeting By Category (Ron) RON SPORT TRAVEL ART YOUR TARGET INTERESTS MATCH WITH WEBSITE THEMATIC
  • 32. Geo-localized Advertising Advertise to mobile users within 5km of grill truck Mobile app guides you to the nearest grill truck
  • 33. Case Study: Retargeting + RTB + Facebook ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 35. Retargeting RTB: Facebook Ad Exchange vs. Ron 106 -54% +184% 1CHF invested CPM Conversion rate ‘Those strong results drove increased spending online for year-end sales.’
  • 36. 4. Think Visual First! Insert Section Header Sub-Title Here ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 37. Picture Connects On Mobile • 66% of social media usage happens on mobile • Communicate in 5x10 • You scan vs. read a facebook/linkedin feed on mobile • Pictures are the trigger to stop, engage
  • 38. Picture Marketing Examples Slimming Winner!
  • 39. Picture Marketing Jewelry Winner: mobile Winner: laptop
  • 40. Picture Marketing: Execution Matters If you had invested 6000$ on one of those visuals, you would have achieved: Nb of fans Nb of social ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. actions
  • 41. Picture Marketing - eCommerce • Back to basics – show the product, show the offer NOT GOOD GOOD BETTER ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 42. 5. Stay Ahead Of Competition ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 43. Facebook Smart Advertising bit.ly/Facebook-advertising ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 44. Conversion Attribution EXPOSITIONS 1ère 2ème 3ème 4èm e % TOTAL CONV. 5ème Dernière SCORE EXP. CONV CA PANIER MOYEN LATENCE 24 47 11 31 29 52 33 30 1 32621 1 1 2 2 5 5 2 41 5 31954 27306 8262 8158 7047 4706 4448 4258 15.8% 15.5% 13.2% 4.0% 3.9% 3.4% 2.3% 2.1% 2.0% €15,574,287 €8,082,003 €5,623,525 €2,809,245 €1,691,747 €1,574,267 €903,684 €840,784 €477 0.56 €252 €205 €340 €207 €223 €194 €203 €811,950 €197 0.53 0.50 1.76 0.64 1.88 4.22 2.12 1.56 PAID SEARCH ORGANIC SEARCH SEM Hors-Marque SEM Marque DISPLAY RREEMMAARRKKEETTIINNGG SSOOCCIIAALL INVEST BASED ON FIRST OR LAST CLICK? WHICH KPI TO ASSESS ROI?
  • 45. Smart Retargeting – Measure Engagement 45 43% Produit A 30% Produit B 27% Produit C TIME SPENT VALUE FREQUENCY REFERRAL CRM PAGE VIEWS 850 SCORE
  • 46. Smart Remarketing – Dynamic CPM 46 Engagement score BID: €3 BID: €2,1 BID: €1 850 SCORE 735 SCORE 690 SCORE
  • 47. Cross Device Tracking • No cookie on Mobile devices • Yet more and more search and surf on mobile • Use predictive tracking and master Id ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 48. Marketing Automation • Personalize advertising banner • Personalize website offers • Trigger emails based on website behavior ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 49. How Can WSI Help? ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 50. Plan Display Strategically ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 51. Create Ads, Purchase Media, Optimize Bidding, Consolidate Reporting ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 52. Are You Spending $ On Google AdWords? You Should Be Spending On Display! ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 53. QUESTIONS & ANSWERS ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.
  • 54. WE WROTE THE BOOK ON THIS ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved. • Get Your Copy! http://bit.ly/WSIDigitalMindsBook
  • 55. THANKS FOR ATTENDING! ©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.