Generating revenue with you website through advertisement can be complicated, that why we have created a this Guide to Adsense so you can understand better what it takes to make your webpages work well to generate revenue. AdSense is a Google product and the N1 source of revenue of Google.
3. Assumptions
1. You have an active AdSense Account that’s fully approved
and running Google Ads on a Website/Blog
2. If you are new to AdSense and haven’t got an AdSense
Approval you need to read my article on
5. A litte info
1. Google Adsense has been a primary revenue model for
many Online Publishers including Online Magazines and
Bloggers.
2. AdSense doesn’t have a minimum traffic requirement and
accepts almost all the blogs/websites that abide by their
TOS. (terms of service)
7. Terminology explained
1. Adsense has both CPC and CPM-based
revenue models.
2. Let me explain the terminology on Adsense
first; CPC – Cost Per Click – The cost-per-
click (CPC) is the amount that you earn
each time a user clicks on your ad.
3. CPM – Cost per 1000 Impressions. An
impression is a single display of an ad on a
website. RPM – Revenue per 1000
Impressions. Note that CPM and RPM are
used interchangeably.
4. CTR – Click Through Rate – Clicks per 100
impressions. Other terms like Pageviews,
Impressions and Earnings; which are
largely self-explanatory.
5. CTR (Click Through Rate): The click-
through rate (CTR) is the percentage
impressions that led to a click.
6. CTR (%)= (Number of ad clicks * 100) /
Number of Impressions.
9. Understanding CTR
➡ If my blog has 10,000 page-views per month and 800
AdSense ad clicks, then my CTR is 0.8%.
➡ CTR = (800 * 100) / 10000 = 0.8%
10. Revenue depends on
1. Amount and the Quality of Traffic.
2. CTR and CPC.(Click Through Rate and Cost per Click)
3. Source of your Traffic to your website
4. The Keywords and Niche your website is about
5. Ads Placement.
6. Ads Sizes and pagination
11. How much $ can I generate ?
Realistically
RPM = (Estimated earnings / Number of page views) * 1000
also,
Estimated Earnings = CPC * Total Number of Clicks
Lets assume your Page RPM is $2 then you must be making around $2/1000 page views.
Then if you are receiving about 10,000 page views you should be able to make $20.
So, if your RPM is $5, then you would make $50 for every 10,000 page views.
If in case your blog is receiving an average of 10,000 pageviews per day which means 3,00,000 pageviews per
month at an RPM of $3, the calculation goes as follows;
Total Revenue = RPM * Pageviews/1000 = 5*300 = 1500.
13. Case Study
Results
✓ Peaked performance over 400%
comparing May 2015 - to May 2016
within 3 months of AdOttimo Support
✓ Sustained year/year revenue
growth in excess of 180%
✓ Increased time on site by 30%
✓ Improved User Experience
✓ 100% Coverage
These are sensitive date we cannot show
15. Process in eight (8) steps
1. Analysis of current revenue
trends and ad inventory
2. Competitive benchmarking
3. Yield optimisation through
Adsense, DFP, DoubleClick Ad
Exchange
4. Opportunity scouting through
market forecast analysis
5. Sustainable and data-driven long
term strategy implementation
6. Revenue improvement
monitoring
7. Incremental adjustments and
best practice guidance
8. Reporting monthly or bi-weekly
9. Support on Google Adsense
policies and trouble-shooting
16. Optimisation is about
1. Better Ad Placement.
2. Choosing the right Ad Formats.
3. Displaying more ads with Ad Exchange and DFP.
4. Understanding your audience and Website ad placement
characteristics.
Adottimo offers it’s optimisation service on a success fee only basis
17. A few other tips
1. Certain ad unit sizes and placements to generate higher
CPCs or RPMs relative to other ad units.
2. For example: an ad unit placed on the top right may perform
better than the same ad unit placed on the bottom left.
3. Avoid non-IAB sizes if you are selling your ads directly and
stick to IAB standards.
18. Ad Placement
1. Understand your audience and place ads accordingly
2. If you are placing ads away from content then its more likely you don’ t
get as much interaction (i.e. clicks.)
3. Place ads closer to where the user’s attention is likely to be focused.
4. Don’t place more than 3 ads per page (unless you are explicitly
allowed to by Google) as you may be in violation of AdSense policies.
5. Place ads into areas where the user is likely to see them without
getting in the users' way
6. Keep the page looking clean, uncluttered and inviting.
20. DFP + Ad Exchange
1. DoubleClick for Publishers (DFP) is a an ad management solution
that helps publishers sell, schedule, deliver, and measure all of
their digital ad inventory. You can seamlessly directly sold ads as
well as AdSense trafficked ads.
2. DoubleClick AdExchange is a technology platform that facilitates
the buying and selling of media advertising inventory from multiple
ad networks. Prices for the inventory are determined through
bidding. It exposes you to over 1000+ ad networks (AdSense is
one of these ad networks.)
21. If you want our team
to optimise your website earnings
22. In simple terms
1. We increase the revenue you generate with your online
magazine by optimising your Google Adsense ad inventory
(aka: We optimise your website to generate more money)
2. We suggest you how to improve the user experience
journey
3. We also propose new streams of online monetisations or
make the existing ones more profitable
23. Leopoldo Rodriquez
Leopoldo a degree in International Relations and Business, he has spent the last
10 years in Digital and Viral Marketing of highly regulated industries and public
sector in 10 different countries,
Leopoldo founded 3 companies so far including the 2nd Crowd Funding platform
worldwide during the 2008 financial crisis which was featured by MSNBC Fast
money in the U.S., he then sold his shares. Before joining INCIDE Leopoldo has
also worked at one of the top digital marketing agencies in EU on large digital
marketing campaigns and launches for Aicon Yachts, Telecom Italia Mobile,
Omnifeedback, Poste Italiane, Boero, BASF, Aicon Yachts and many others.
With in-depth knowledge of digital technologies applied on the internet he brings
his technical expertise and project management skills to the team.
Leopoldo is the head of digital strategy and partner at INCIDE one of London’s
most established branding firms from which he created Adottimo Ltd. with the
sole focus of optimising ad revenue and monetisation of digital properties. He
brings a wealth of experience in helping companies succeed and set the right
path to grow fast and sustainably.
Leopoldo speaks: English, Italian, Spanish,
Key People
24. We like the good old fashioned
Phone
+44 744 30 86 22
for English, Italian or Spanish
But if you really want to email us
Leo@Adottimo.com