SlideShare a Scribd company logo
1 of 7
All About
Relative CTR
DOB - Tuesday, June 14, 2011
Part of Knowledge Sharing Activity
-Pawan Dhera
16/5/2016
What is Relative CTR?
Relative CTR is a measure of how your ads are performing on the Display Network
compared to other advertisers' (Competitor’s) ads that are appearing on the same
websites/placements.
To evaluate these numbers, “HIGHER IS BETTER”.
Where will you get this Metrics?
To view relative CTR within your AdWords account,
Go to the "Ad groups" tab, select “Modify columns" from the "Columns" drop-
down menu, and select "Relative CTR.” under the Competitive Metrics column
and hit save.
Relative CTR will appear at the campaign or ad group level.
Why Numbers are in 1x Format?
The number is a simple calculation of the campaign’s CTR divided by the CTR of the other
competitors ads (Unknown = x) running in the same places.
E.g.
Campaign CTR%/(x) = Relative CTR
(0.03%)/(x) = 0.6x
0.03/0.6 = x
x=0.05%
So the CTR of the Competitors ads running in the same places on the GDN have a CTR of
0.05%.
Anything below 1x is “below avg.” and will likely have fewer impressions that “above average” 1x
adgroups.
Why does Relative CTR matter?
For E.g.
(When Relative CTR = 2x)
At first glance, a CTR of any GDN campaign with 0.04% may seem low. But knowing that this is
two times the CTR of competing ads (Relative CTR = 2x) tells you that your ads are actually
performing better than ads on the same page. This means that your ad creative matches the websites
content and that your audience is responding well to your Ads.
(When Relative CTR = 0.5x)
Alternatively, you may see that your Relative CTR is 0.5x, meaning that your ads are only getting half
of the average CTR. This means that your ads may not be resonating with the users you’d like to
reach and that you may be able to improve performance by refining your ad creative/placements
where your ads are being served.
How to optimize Relative CTR?
• Start reviewing your placements for possible exclusions. A low relative CTR can hurt your
Quality Score and result in lower ad rank on the DN.
• Use site and category exclusions. I especially like going to the Page Types page and choosing to
opt out of error pages, parked domains, and forums when it’s obvious that the conversion rate
compared to cost isn’t worth it.
• Revisit your message – There’s a reason why your ad is receiving less traffic than those on the
same pages.
• Include negative keywords in your DN campaign.
• Utilize contextual targeting. If you aren’t using keywords to help the AdWords system to place
you on relevant sites, you might consider trying it to find additional ad groups you might not have
originally thought of.
All about Relative CTR

More Related Content

What's hot

Cómo hacer un Plan de Marketing Digital + Ebook + Plantillas
Cómo hacer un Plan de Marketing Digital + Ebook + PlantillasCómo hacer un Plan de Marketing Digital + Ebook + Plantillas
Cómo hacer un Plan de Marketing Digital + Ebook + PlantillasMiguel Florido
 
Marketing Strategy for B2B
Marketing Strategy for B2BMarketing Strategy for B2B
Marketing Strategy for B2BAmrit Sagar
 
How to use Facebook Pixel?
How to use Facebook Pixel?How to use Facebook Pixel?
How to use Facebook Pixel?Socialityio
 
Digital Marketing Plan Slides
Digital Marketing Plan SlidesDigital Marketing Plan Slides
Digital Marketing Plan SlidesPhilip Oakley
 
An Amazon Seller’s Guide to Operational Success: Driving Traffic from Externa...
An Amazon Seller’s Guide to Operational Success: Driving Traffic from Externa...An Amazon Seller’s Guide to Operational Success: Driving Traffic from Externa...
An Amazon Seller’s Guide to Operational Success: Driving Traffic from Externa...Tinuiti
 
Google Tag Manager | Google Tag Manager Tutorial 2019 | Google Tag Manager Se...
Google Tag Manager | Google Tag Manager Tutorial 2019 | Google Tag Manager Se...Google Tag Manager | Google Tag Manager Tutorial 2019 | Google Tag Manager Se...
Google Tag Manager | Google Tag Manager Tutorial 2019 | Google Tag Manager Se...Simplilearn
 
KEYWORD RESEARCH & SEO
KEYWORD RESEARCH & SEO KEYWORD RESEARCH & SEO
KEYWORD RESEARCH & SEO AVIK BAL
 
Digital Marketing Strategy
Digital Marketing StrategyDigital Marketing Strategy
Digital Marketing StrategyMaged Elsakka
 
Top E-commerce Marketing Channels in 2021
Top E-commerce Marketing Channels in 2021Top E-commerce Marketing Channels in 2021
Top E-commerce Marketing Channels in 2021Semrush
 
Sample SEO presentation for clients
Sample SEO presentation for clientsSample SEO presentation for clients
Sample SEO presentation for clientsSiddu Hosageri
 
General digital marketing consulting proposal
General digital marketing consulting proposalGeneral digital marketing consulting proposal
General digital marketing consulting proposalShashikant Kashodhan
 
7 SEO Tips And Tricks - That Actually Work | SEO Tips 2019 | SEO Tutorial For...
7 SEO Tips And Tricks - That Actually Work | SEO Tips 2019 | SEO Tutorial For...7 SEO Tips And Tricks - That Actually Work | SEO Tips 2019 | SEO Tutorial For...
7 SEO Tips And Tricks - That Actually Work | SEO Tips 2019 | SEO Tutorial For...Simplilearn
 
Google Ads | Google Ads Tutorial 2019 | Google AdWords Tutorial 2019 | PPC Ad...
Google Ads | Google Ads Tutorial 2019 | Google AdWords Tutorial 2019 | PPC Ad...Google Ads | Google Ads Tutorial 2019 | Google AdWords Tutorial 2019 | PPC Ad...
Google Ads | Google Ads Tutorial 2019 | Google AdWords Tutorial 2019 | PPC Ad...Simplilearn
 
Google Ads Tutorial for Beginners
Google Ads Tutorial for BeginnersGoogle Ads Tutorial for Beginners
Google Ads Tutorial for BeginnersSimplilearn
 
Website SEO Strategy WordCamp Raleigh
Website SEO Strategy WordCamp RaleighWebsite SEO Strategy WordCamp Raleigh
Website SEO Strategy WordCamp RaleighJake Aull
 

What's hot (20)

Cómo hacer un Plan de Marketing Digital + Ebook + Plantillas
Cómo hacer un Plan de Marketing Digital + Ebook + PlantillasCómo hacer un Plan de Marketing Digital + Ebook + Plantillas
Cómo hacer un Plan de Marketing Digital + Ebook + Plantillas
 
Marketing Strategy for B2B
Marketing Strategy for B2BMarketing Strategy for B2B
Marketing Strategy for B2B
 
How to use Facebook Pixel?
How to use Facebook Pixel?How to use Facebook Pixel?
How to use Facebook Pixel?
 
Technical SEO Audit
Technical SEO AuditTechnical SEO Audit
Technical SEO Audit
 
Digital marketing proposal
Digital marketing proposalDigital marketing proposal
Digital marketing proposal
 
Digital Marketing Plan Slides
Digital Marketing Plan SlidesDigital Marketing Plan Slides
Digital Marketing Plan Slides
 
SEO Consulting Proposal. How to write a Digital Marketing Consulting Proposal
SEO Consulting Proposal. How to write a Digital Marketing Consulting ProposalSEO Consulting Proposal. How to write a Digital Marketing Consulting Proposal
SEO Consulting Proposal. How to write a Digital Marketing Consulting Proposal
 
An Amazon Seller’s Guide to Operational Success: Driving Traffic from Externa...
An Amazon Seller’s Guide to Operational Success: Driving Traffic from Externa...An Amazon Seller’s Guide to Operational Success: Driving Traffic from Externa...
An Amazon Seller’s Guide to Operational Success: Driving Traffic from Externa...
 
Google Tag Manager | Google Tag Manager Tutorial 2019 | Google Tag Manager Se...
Google Tag Manager | Google Tag Manager Tutorial 2019 | Google Tag Manager Se...Google Tag Manager | Google Tag Manager Tutorial 2019 | Google Tag Manager Se...
Google Tag Manager | Google Tag Manager Tutorial 2019 | Google Tag Manager Se...
 
KEYWORD RESEARCH & SEO
KEYWORD RESEARCH & SEO KEYWORD RESEARCH & SEO
KEYWORD RESEARCH & SEO
 
Digital Marketing Strategy
Digital Marketing StrategyDigital Marketing Strategy
Digital Marketing Strategy
 
Top E-commerce Marketing Channels in 2021
Top E-commerce Marketing Channels in 2021Top E-commerce Marketing Channels in 2021
Top E-commerce Marketing Channels in 2021
 
Sample SEO presentation for clients
Sample SEO presentation for clientsSample SEO presentation for clients
Sample SEO presentation for clients
 
General digital marketing consulting proposal
General digital marketing consulting proposalGeneral digital marketing consulting proposal
General digital marketing consulting proposal
 
SEO Audit
SEO Audit SEO Audit
SEO Audit
 
Seo strategy
Seo strategySeo strategy
Seo strategy
 
7 SEO Tips And Tricks - That Actually Work | SEO Tips 2019 | SEO Tutorial For...
7 SEO Tips And Tricks - That Actually Work | SEO Tips 2019 | SEO Tutorial For...7 SEO Tips And Tricks - That Actually Work | SEO Tips 2019 | SEO Tutorial For...
7 SEO Tips And Tricks - That Actually Work | SEO Tips 2019 | SEO Tutorial For...
 
Google Ads | Google Ads Tutorial 2019 | Google AdWords Tutorial 2019 | PPC Ad...
Google Ads | Google Ads Tutorial 2019 | Google AdWords Tutorial 2019 | PPC Ad...Google Ads | Google Ads Tutorial 2019 | Google AdWords Tutorial 2019 | PPC Ad...
Google Ads | Google Ads Tutorial 2019 | Google AdWords Tutorial 2019 | PPC Ad...
 
Google Ads Tutorial for Beginners
Google Ads Tutorial for BeginnersGoogle Ads Tutorial for Beginners
Google Ads Tutorial for Beginners
 
Website SEO Strategy WordCamp Raleigh
Website SEO Strategy WordCamp RaleighWebsite SEO Strategy WordCamp Raleigh
Website SEO Strategy WordCamp Raleigh
 

Viewers also liked

What is the Oracle Marketing AppCloud? Meetup Oct 2014
What is the Oracle Marketing AppCloud? Meetup Oct 2014What is the Oracle Marketing AppCloud? Meetup Oct 2014
What is the Oracle Marketing AppCloud? Meetup Oct 2014Marketing Cube
 
Comparison and contrast intro
Comparison and contrast introComparison and contrast intro
Comparison and contrast introKimara Winters
 
勉強会 2015-02-04
勉強会 2015-02-04勉強会 2015-02-04
勉強会 2015-02-04cct-inc
 
tamer Ali-technical sales-V4
tamer Ali-technical sales-V4tamer Ali-technical sales-V4
tamer Ali-technical sales-V4tamer ali
 
BioSmart / Right Spring Lighting Catalog
BioSmart / Right Spring Lighting CatalogBioSmart / Right Spring Lighting Catalog
BioSmart / Right Spring Lighting Catalog-PAUL CODLING
 
Es Suficiente la Inversión en Investigación en Pro del mejoramiento energétic...
Es Suficiente la Inversión en Investigación en Pro del mejoramiento energétic...Es Suficiente la Inversión en Investigación en Pro del mejoramiento energétic...
Es Suficiente la Inversión en Investigación en Pro del mejoramiento energétic...Luisa Barreiro
 
Why people arere luct antto repor t work placebullying
Why people arere luct antto repor t work placebullyingWhy people arere luct antto repor t work placebullying
Why people arere luct antto repor t work placebullyingNguyễn Thái
 
Social work practice with individuals
Social work practice with individualsSocial work practice with individuals
Social work practice with individualsCathy Co
 
Work on getting noticed
Work on getting noticedWork on getting noticed
Work on getting noticedKapil Bisht
 
Construction Industry Snapshot Package-October 2014
Construction Industry Snapshot Package-October 2014Construction Industry Snapshot Package-October 2014
Construction Industry Snapshot Package-October 2014-PAUL CODLING
 
勉強会 2014-12-11 (spain)
勉強会 2014-12-11 (spain)勉強会 2014-12-11 (spain)
勉強会 2014-12-11 (spain)cct-inc
 

Viewers also liked (19)

God’s Precious Promises
God’s Precious PromisesGod’s Precious Promises
God’s Precious Promises
 
Interaksi sosial
Interaksi sosialInteraksi sosial
Interaksi sosial
 
Ensayo alejooooooooooooo
Ensayo alejoooooooooooooEnsayo alejooooooooooooo
Ensayo alejooooooooooooo
 
What is the Oracle Marketing AppCloud? Meetup Oct 2014
What is the Oracle Marketing AppCloud? Meetup Oct 2014What is the Oracle Marketing AppCloud? Meetup Oct 2014
What is the Oracle Marketing AppCloud? Meetup Oct 2014
 
KiddAlzRev,AMR08
KiddAlzRev,AMR08KiddAlzRev,AMR08
KiddAlzRev,AMR08
 
забытые деревни
забытые деревнизабытые деревни
забытые деревни
 
Mother Teresa
Mother TeresaMother Teresa
Mother Teresa
 
Suffering a Faith Failure
Suffering a Faith FailureSuffering a Faith Failure
Suffering a Faith Failure
 
Blended Learning status in Greece Today
Blended Learning status in Greece TodayBlended Learning status in Greece Today
Blended Learning status in Greece Today
 
Comparison and contrast intro
Comparison and contrast introComparison and contrast intro
Comparison and contrast intro
 
勉強会 2015-02-04
勉強会 2015-02-04勉強会 2015-02-04
勉強会 2015-02-04
 
tamer Ali-technical sales-V4
tamer Ali-technical sales-V4tamer Ali-technical sales-V4
tamer Ali-technical sales-V4
 
BioSmart / Right Spring Lighting Catalog
BioSmart / Right Spring Lighting CatalogBioSmart / Right Spring Lighting Catalog
BioSmart / Right Spring Lighting Catalog
 
Es Suficiente la Inversión en Investigación en Pro del mejoramiento energétic...
Es Suficiente la Inversión en Investigación en Pro del mejoramiento energétic...Es Suficiente la Inversión en Investigación en Pro del mejoramiento energétic...
Es Suficiente la Inversión en Investigación en Pro del mejoramiento energétic...
 
Why people arere luct antto repor t work placebullying
Why people arere luct antto repor t work placebullyingWhy people arere luct antto repor t work placebullying
Why people arere luct antto repor t work placebullying
 
Social work practice with individuals
Social work practice with individualsSocial work practice with individuals
Social work practice with individuals
 
Work on getting noticed
Work on getting noticedWork on getting noticed
Work on getting noticed
 
Construction Industry Snapshot Package-October 2014
Construction Industry Snapshot Package-October 2014Construction Industry Snapshot Package-October 2014
Construction Industry Snapshot Package-October 2014
 
勉強会 2014-12-11 (spain)
勉強会 2014-12-11 (spain)勉強会 2014-12-11 (spain)
勉強会 2014-12-11 (spain)
 

Similar to All about Relative CTR

LinkedIn Ads Optimization Guide
LinkedIn Ads Optimization GuideLinkedIn Ads Optimization Guide
LinkedIn Ads Optimization GuideJustine Sasaki
 
LinkedIn Ads Optimization Guide
LinkedIn Ads Optimization GuideLinkedIn Ads Optimization Guide
LinkedIn Ads Optimization GuideJevgenia
 
LinkedIn Ads Optimization Guide
LinkedIn Ads Optimization GuideLinkedIn Ads Optimization Guide
LinkedIn Ads Optimization GuideFrancesca Lazzini
 
Linked in ads optimization guide
Linked in ads optimization guideLinked in ads optimization guide
Linked in ads optimization guideRada Ivanov
 
Pay per click publication
Pay per click publicationPay per click publication
Pay per click publicationDavid Vitarelli
 
Introduction to google adwords
Introduction to google adwordsIntroduction to google adwords
Introduction to google adwordsVizion Interactive
 
Simple adwords by mahesh gangurde with lt's digital
Simple adwords by mahesh gangurde with lt's digitalSimple adwords by mahesh gangurde with lt's digital
Simple adwords by mahesh gangurde with lt's digitalGangurde Mahesh
 
Pro Level Facebook Ad Optimization Techniques
Pro Level Facebook Ad Optimization TechniquesPro Level Facebook Ad Optimization Techniques
Pro Level Facebook Ad Optimization TechniquesAffiliate Summit
 
How to increase effective CTR, CPC and e CPM of website?
How to increase effective CTR, CPC and e CPM of website?How to increase effective CTR, CPC and e CPM of website?
How to increase effective CTR, CPC and e CPM of website?Compare Infobase Limited
 
Genuine google seo checklist top secret
Genuine google seo checklist top secretGenuine google seo checklist top secret
Genuine google seo checklist top secretRalph Paglia
 
15 PPC Tips and Tricks for Success
15 PPC Tips and Tricks for Success15 PPC Tips and Tricks for Success
15 PPC Tips and Tricks for SuccessTrada
 
2013 ion toolkit_for_landing_pages
2013 ion toolkit_for_landing_pages2013 ion toolkit_for_landing_pages
2013 ion toolkit_for_landing_pagesChafik YAHOU
 
ToolKit for Landing Pages
ToolKit for Landing PagesToolKit for Landing Pages
ToolKit for Landing PagesEvgeny Tsarkov
 
Simple Google Adwords In Easy Steps - Mahesh Gangurde
Simple Google Adwords In Easy Steps - Mahesh  GangurdeSimple Google Adwords In Easy Steps - Mahesh  Gangurde
Simple Google Adwords In Easy Steps - Mahesh GangurdeMahesh Gangurde
 
WHAT IS Adwords.???????
WHAT IS Adwords.???????WHAT IS Adwords.???????
WHAT IS Adwords.???????tejas jani
 
PPC Management
PPC ManagementPPC Management
PPC ManagementGrape5
 

Similar to All about Relative CTR (20)

AdWords strategy
AdWords strategy AdWords strategy
AdWords strategy
 
LinkedIn Ads Optimization Guide
LinkedIn Ads Optimization GuideLinkedIn Ads Optimization Guide
LinkedIn Ads Optimization Guide
 
LinkedIn Ads Optimization Guide
LinkedIn Ads Optimization GuideLinkedIn Ads Optimization Guide
LinkedIn Ads Optimization Guide
 
LinkedIn Ads Optimization Guide
LinkedIn Ads Optimization GuideLinkedIn Ads Optimization Guide
LinkedIn Ads Optimization Guide
 
Linked in ads optimization guide
Linked in ads optimization guideLinked in ads optimization guide
Linked in ads optimization guide
 
Simple smo
Simple smoSimple smo
Simple smo
 
Pay per click publication
Pay per click publicationPay per click publication
Pay per click publication
 
Introduction to google adwords
Introduction to google adwordsIntroduction to google adwords
Introduction to google adwords
 
Sample PPC Audit Report
Sample PPC Audit ReportSample PPC Audit Report
Sample PPC Audit Report
 
Simple adwords by mahesh gangurde with lt's digital
Simple adwords by mahesh gangurde with lt's digitalSimple adwords by mahesh gangurde with lt's digital
Simple adwords by mahesh gangurde with lt's digital
 
Pro Level Facebook Ad Optimization Techniques
Pro Level Facebook Ad Optimization TechniquesPro Level Facebook Ad Optimization Techniques
Pro Level Facebook Ad Optimization Techniques
 
How to increase effective CTR, CPC and e CPM of website?
How to increase effective CTR, CPC and e CPM of website?How to increase effective CTR, CPC and e CPM of website?
How to increase effective CTR, CPC and e CPM of website?
 
Genuine google seo checklist top secret
Genuine google seo checklist top secretGenuine google seo checklist top secret
Genuine google seo checklist top secret
 
15 PPC Tips and Tricks for Success
15 PPC Tips and Tricks for Success15 PPC Tips and Tricks for Success
15 PPC Tips and Tricks for Success
 
2013 ion toolkit_for_landing_pages
2013 ion toolkit_for_landing_pages2013 ion toolkit_for_landing_pages
2013 ion toolkit_for_landing_pages
 
ToolKit for Landing Pages
ToolKit for Landing PagesToolKit for Landing Pages
ToolKit for Landing Pages
 
Simple Google Adwords In Easy Steps - Mahesh Gangurde
Simple Google Adwords In Easy Steps - Mahesh  GangurdeSimple Google Adwords In Easy Steps - Mahesh  Gangurde
Simple Google Adwords In Easy Steps - Mahesh Gangurde
 
WHAT IS Adwords.???????
WHAT IS Adwords.???????WHAT IS Adwords.???????
WHAT IS Adwords.???????
 
Advanced PPC
Advanced PPCAdvanced PPC
Advanced PPC
 
PPC Management
PPC ManagementPPC Management
PPC Management
 

Recently uploaded

Storyboards for my Final Major Project Video
Storyboards for my Final Major Project VideoStoryboards for my Final Major Project Video
Storyboards for my Final Major Project VideoSineadBidwell
 
Most Influential HR Leaders Leading the Corporate World, 2024 (Final file).pdf
Most Influential HR Leaders Leading the Corporate World, 2024 (Final file).pdfMost Influential HR Leaders Leading the Corporate World, 2024 (Final file).pdf
Most Influential HR Leaders Leading the Corporate World, 2024 (Final file).pdfCIO Business World
 
Most Impressive Construction Leaders in Tech, Making Waves in the Industry, 2...
Most Impressive Construction Leaders in Tech, Making Waves in the Industry, 2...Most Impressive Construction Leaders in Tech, Making Waves in the Industry, 2...
Most Impressive Construction Leaders in Tech, Making Waves in the Industry, 2...CIO Business World
 
Fiverr's Product Marketing Interview Assignment
Fiverr's Product Marketing Interview AssignmentFiverr's Product Marketing Interview Assignment
Fiverr's Product Marketing Interview AssignmentFarrel Brest
 
Digital Marketing Courses In Pune- school Of Internet Marketing
Digital Marketing Courses In Pune- school Of Internet MarketingDigital Marketing Courses In Pune- school Of Internet Marketing
Digital Marketing Courses In Pune- school Of Internet MarketingShauryaBadaya
 
Best digital marketing e-book form bignners
Best digital marketing e-book form bignnersBest digital marketing e-book form bignners
Best digital marketing e-book form bignnersmuntasibkhan58
 
Codes and Conventions of Film Magazine Covers.pptx
Codes and Conventions of Film Magazine Covers.pptxCodes and Conventions of Film Magazine Covers.pptx
Codes and Conventions of Film Magazine Covers.pptxGeorgeCulica
 
Exploring The World Of Adult Ad Networks.pdf
Exploring The World Of Adult Ad Networks.pdfExploring The World Of Adult Ad Networks.pdf
Exploring The World Of Adult Ad Networks.pdfadult marketing
 
2024's Top PPC Tactics: Triple Your Google Ads Local Leads
2024's Top PPC Tactics: Triple Your Google Ads Local Leads2024's Top PPC Tactics: Triple Your Google Ads Local Leads
2024's Top PPC Tactics: Triple Your Google Ads Local LeadsSearch Engine Journal
 
Michael Kors marketing assignment swot analysis
Michael Kors marketing assignment swot analysisMichael Kors marketing assignment swot analysis
Michael Kors marketing assignment swot analysisjunaid794917
 
A Comprehensive Guide to Technical SEO | Banyanbrain
A Comprehensive Guide to Technical SEO | BanyanbrainA Comprehensive Guide to Technical SEO | Banyanbrain
A Comprehensive Guide to Technical SEO | BanyanbrainBanyanbrain
 
Miss Immigrant USA Activity Pageant Program.pdf
Miss Immigrant USA Activity Pageant Program.pdfMiss Immigrant USA Activity Pageant Program.pdf
Miss Immigrant USA Activity Pageant Program.pdfMagdalena Kulisz
 
Exploring Web 3.0 Growth marketing: Navigating the Future of the Internet
Exploring Web 3.0 Growth marketing: Navigating the Future of the InternetExploring Web 3.0 Growth marketing: Navigating the Future of the Internet
Exploring Web 3.0 Growth marketing: Navigating the Future of the Internetnehapardhi711
 
From Chance to Choice - Tactical Link Building for International SEO
From Chance to Choice - Tactical Link Building for International SEOFrom Chance to Choice - Tactical Link Building for International SEO
From Chance to Choice - Tactical Link Building for International SEOSzymon Słowik
 
15 Tactics to Scale Your Trade Show Marketing Strategy
15 Tactics to Scale Your Trade Show Marketing Strategy15 Tactics to Scale Your Trade Show Marketing Strategy
15 Tactics to Scale Your Trade Show Marketing StrategyBlue Atlas Marketing
 
Digital Marketing in 5G Era - Digital Transformation in 5G Age
Digital Marketing in 5G Era - Digital Transformation in 5G AgeDigital Marketing in 5G Era - Digital Transformation in 5G Age
Digital Marketing in 5G Era - Digital Transformation in 5G AgeDigiKarishma
 
What I learned from auditing over 1,000,000 websites - SERP Conf 2024 Patrick...
What I learned from auditing over 1,000,000 websites - SERP Conf 2024 Patrick...What I learned from auditing over 1,000,000 websites - SERP Conf 2024 Patrick...
What I learned from auditing over 1,000,000 websites - SERP Conf 2024 Patrick...Ahrefs
 
Unlocking Passive Income: The Power of Affiliate Marketing
Unlocking Passive Income: The Power of Affiliate MarketingUnlocking Passive Income: The Power of Affiliate Marketing
Unlocking Passive Income: The Power of Affiliate MarketingDaniel
 
top marketing posters - Fresh Spar Technologies - Manojkumar C
top marketing posters - Fresh Spar Technologies - Manojkumar Ctop marketing posters - Fresh Spar Technologies - Manojkumar C
top marketing posters - Fresh Spar Technologies - Manojkumar CManojkumar C
 
Introduction to marketing Management Notes
Introduction to marketing Management NotesIntroduction to marketing Management Notes
Introduction to marketing Management NotesKiranTiwari42
 

Recently uploaded (20)

Storyboards for my Final Major Project Video
Storyboards for my Final Major Project VideoStoryboards for my Final Major Project Video
Storyboards for my Final Major Project Video
 
Most Influential HR Leaders Leading the Corporate World, 2024 (Final file).pdf
Most Influential HR Leaders Leading the Corporate World, 2024 (Final file).pdfMost Influential HR Leaders Leading the Corporate World, 2024 (Final file).pdf
Most Influential HR Leaders Leading the Corporate World, 2024 (Final file).pdf
 
Most Impressive Construction Leaders in Tech, Making Waves in the Industry, 2...
Most Impressive Construction Leaders in Tech, Making Waves in the Industry, 2...Most Impressive Construction Leaders in Tech, Making Waves in the Industry, 2...
Most Impressive Construction Leaders in Tech, Making Waves in the Industry, 2...
 
Fiverr's Product Marketing Interview Assignment
Fiverr's Product Marketing Interview AssignmentFiverr's Product Marketing Interview Assignment
Fiverr's Product Marketing Interview Assignment
 
Digital Marketing Courses In Pune- school Of Internet Marketing
Digital Marketing Courses In Pune- school Of Internet MarketingDigital Marketing Courses In Pune- school Of Internet Marketing
Digital Marketing Courses In Pune- school Of Internet Marketing
 
Best digital marketing e-book form bignners
Best digital marketing e-book form bignnersBest digital marketing e-book form bignners
Best digital marketing e-book form bignners
 
Codes and Conventions of Film Magazine Covers.pptx
Codes and Conventions of Film Magazine Covers.pptxCodes and Conventions of Film Magazine Covers.pptx
Codes and Conventions of Film Magazine Covers.pptx
 
Exploring The World Of Adult Ad Networks.pdf
Exploring The World Of Adult Ad Networks.pdfExploring The World Of Adult Ad Networks.pdf
Exploring The World Of Adult Ad Networks.pdf
 
2024's Top PPC Tactics: Triple Your Google Ads Local Leads
2024's Top PPC Tactics: Triple Your Google Ads Local Leads2024's Top PPC Tactics: Triple Your Google Ads Local Leads
2024's Top PPC Tactics: Triple Your Google Ads Local Leads
 
Michael Kors marketing assignment swot analysis
Michael Kors marketing assignment swot analysisMichael Kors marketing assignment swot analysis
Michael Kors marketing assignment swot analysis
 
A Comprehensive Guide to Technical SEO | Banyanbrain
A Comprehensive Guide to Technical SEO | BanyanbrainA Comprehensive Guide to Technical SEO | Banyanbrain
A Comprehensive Guide to Technical SEO | Banyanbrain
 
Miss Immigrant USA Activity Pageant Program.pdf
Miss Immigrant USA Activity Pageant Program.pdfMiss Immigrant USA Activity Pageant Program.pdf
Miss Immigrant USA Activity Pageant Program.pdf
 
Exploring Web 3.0 Growth marketing: Navigating the Future of the Internet
Exploring Web 3.0 Growth marketing: Navigating the Future of the InternetExploring Web 3.0 Growth marketing: Navigating the Future of the Internet
Exploring Web 3.0 Growth marketing: Navigating the Future of the Internet
 
From Chance to Choice - Tactical Link Building for International SEO
From Chance to Choice - Tactical Link Building for International SEOFrom Chance to Choice - Tactical Link Building for International SEO
From Chance to Choice - Tactical Link Building for International SEO
 
15 Tactics to Scale Your Trade Show Marketing Strategy
15 Tactics to Scale Your Trade Show Marketing Strategy15 Tactics to Scale Your Trade Show Marketing Strategy
15 Tactics to Scale Your Trade Show Marketing Strategy
 
Digital Marketing in 5G Era - Digital Transformation in 5G Age
Digital Marketing in 5G Era - Digital Transformation in 5G AgeDigital Marketing in 5G Era - Digital Transformation in 5G Age
Digital Marketing in 5G Era - Digital Transformation in 5G Age
 
What I learned from auditing over 1,000,000 websites - SERP Conf 2024 Patrick...
What I learned from auditing over 1,000,000 websites - SERP Conf 2024 Patrick...What I learned from auditing over 1,000,000 websites - SERP Conf 2024 Patrick...
What I learned from auditing over 1,000,000 websites - SERP Conf 2024 Patrick...
 
Unlocking Passive Income: The Power of Affiliate Marketing
Unlocking Passive Income: The Power of Affiliate MarketingUnlocking Passive Income: The Power of Affiliate Marketing
Unlocking Passive Income: The Power of Affiliate Marketing
 
top marketing posters - Fresh Spar Technologies - Manojkumar C
top marketing posters - Fresh Spar Technologies - Manojkumar Ctop marketing posters - Fresh Spar Technologies - Manojkumar C
top marketing posters - Fresh Spar Technologies - Manojkumar C
 
Introduction to marketing Management Notes
Introduction to marketing Management NotesIntroduction to marketing Management Notes
Introduction to marketing Management Notes
 

All about Relative CTR

  • 1. All About Relative CTR DOB - Tuesday, June 14, 2011 Part of Knowledge Sharing Activity -Pawan Dhera 16/5/2016
  • 2. What is Relative CTR? Relative CTR is a measure of how your ads are performing on the Display Network compared to other advertisers' (Competitor’s) ads that are appearing on the same websites/placements. To evaluate these numbers, “HIGHER IS BETTER”.
  • 3. Where will you get this Metrics? To view relative CTR within your AdWords account, Go to the "Ad groups" tab, select “Modify columns" from the "Columns" drop- down menu, and select "Relative CTR.” under the Competitive Metrics column and hit save. Relative CTR will appear at the campaign or ad group level.
  • 4. Why Numbers are in 1x Format? The number is a simple calculation of the campaign’s CTR divided by the CTR of the other competitors ads (Unknown = x) running in the same places. E.g. Campaign CTR%/(x) = Relative CTR (0.03%)/(x) = 0.6x 0.03/0.6 = x x=0.05% So the CTR of the Competitors ads running in the same places on the GDN have a CTR of 0.05%. Anything below 1x is “below avg.” and will likely have fewer impressions that “above average” 1x adgroups.
  • 5. Why does Relative CTR matter? For E.g. (When Relative CTR = 2x) At first glance, a CTR of any GDN campaign with 0.04% may seem low. But knowing that this is two times the CTR of competing ads (Relative CTR = 2x) tells you that your ads are actually performing better than ads on the same page. This means that your ad creative matches the websites content and that your audience is responding well to your Ads. (When Relative CTR = 0.5x) Alternatively, you may see that your Relative CTR is 0.5x, meaning that your ads are only getting half of the average CTR. This means that your ads may not be resonating with the users you’d like to reach and that you may be able to improve performance by refining your ad creative/placements where your ads are being served.
  • 6. How to optimize Relative CTR? • Start reviewing your placements for possible exclusions. A low relative CTR can hurt your Quality Score and result in lower ad rank on the DN. • Use site and category exclusions. I especially like going to the Page Types page and choosing to opt out of error pages, parked domains, and forums when it’s obvious that the conversion rate compared to cost isn’t worth it. • Revisit your message – There’s a reason why your ad is receiving less traffic than those on the same pages. • Include negative keywords in your DN campaign. • Utilize contextual targeting. If you aren’t using keywords to help the AdWords system to place you on relevant sites, you might consider trying it to find additional ad groups you might not have originally thought of.