Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.
DIGITAL MARKETING
SCOTT PONIEWAZ • SCOTT@PONIEWAZ.ME
DIGITAL MARKETING LANDSCAPE
2016
3,874
Source: Scott Brinker/chiefmartec.com
MARKETING FUNNEL OVERVIEW
MARKETING CHANNELS: MEDIA BUYING
PLATFORMS
OTHER TOOLS
Retargeting SEM/Retargeting/Display Content Remarketing
CONTENT, SOCIAL MEDIA & INFLUENCER
OTHER TOOLS
Content Planning Adwords/Content Planning PR/Content Planning
Content, Foll...
EMAIL MARKETING & RETENTION
PLATFORMS
OTHER TOOLS
Email Capture Email Capture Landing Pages
Pre-launch
Landing Pages
A/B T...
ANALYTICS & TRACKING BASICS
PLATFORMS
WHY THEY HELP
•  View traffic patterns
•  Understand marketing efforts
•  Know how p...
ANALYTICS & TRACKING BASICS
PLATFORMS
WHY THEY HELP
•  View traffic patterns
•  Understand marketing efforts
•  Know how p...
ALTERNATIVE STRATEGIES
•  Partnerships
•  Guerilla/Creative Marketing
•  Offline Marketing: Billboards, Trade Shows, Direc...
BASIC KPI’S & TERMINOLOGY
CPM – Cost per 1000 impressions.
SERP – Search Engine Results Page.
SEO – Search Engine Optimiza...
ANALYTICS: CASE STUDY
OPTION A
OPTION B
CPC: $1.00
Conversion 1/10 = $10 CPL
ABS = $15
Annual Purchases: 2
CPC: $2.00
Conv...
QUESTIONS?
SCOTT PONIEWAZ • SCOTT@PONIEWAZ.ME
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in …5
×

Getting Started With Digital Marketing

764 views

Published on

The Digital Marketing world is expansive and as a startup founder, small business owner, or eCommerce shop owner, it can be overwhelming when you are trying to learn what tools to use or how to use them. This presentation gets down to the basics of digital marketing across email channels, paid advertising, content, influencer, and social media, and provides some basic terms to understand as you begin your foray into the world of marketing.

Published in: Marketing
  • Login to see the comments

  • Be the first to like this

Getting Started With Digital Marketing

  1. 1. DIGITAL MARKETING SCOTT PONIEWAZ • SCOTT@PONIEWAZ.ME
  2. 2. DIGITAL MARKETING LANDSCAPE 2016 3,874 Source: Scott Brinker/chiefmartec.com
  3. 3. MARKETING FUNNEL OVERVIEW
  4. 4. MARKETING CHANNELS: MEDIA BUYING PLATFORMS OTHER TOOLS Retargeting SEM/Retargeting/Display Content Remarketing
  5. 5. CONTENT, SOCIAL MEDIA & INFLUENCER OTHER TOOLS Content Planning Adwords/Content Planning PR/Content Planning Content, Followers & Much More Social Media Management Influencer & Content Planning PLATFORMS
  6. 6. EMAIL MARKETING & RETENTION PLATFORMS OTHER TOOLS Email Capture Email Capture Landing Pages Pre-launch Landing Pages A/B TestingA/B Testing
  7. 7. ANALYTICS & TRACKING BASICS PLATFORMS WHY THEY HELP •  View traffic patterns •  Understand marketing efforts •  Know how people find you •  Understand user segments •  Identify Problem Areas •  See how people use your site
  8. 8. ANALYTICS & TRACKING BASICS PLATFORMS WHY THEY HELP •  View traffic patterns •  Understand marketing efforts •  Know how people find you •  Understand user segments •  Identify Problem Areas •  See how people use your site
  9. 9. ALTERNATIVE STRATEGIES •  Partnerships •  Guerilla/Creative Marketing •  Offline Marketing: Billboards, Trade Shows, Direct Mail, etc… •  B2C vs. B2B THE OTHERS
  10. 10. BASIC KPI’S & TERMINOLOGY CPM – Cost per 1000 impressions. SERP – Search Engine Results Page. SEO – Search Engine Optimization. SEM – Search Engine Marketing. CTR – Click Through Rate (both digital ads and email marketing). CPL – Cost Per Lead (example: email address or phone number). CPC – Cost Per Click. CPA – Cost Per Acquisition (sale or specific action accomplished). ABS – Average Basket Size. CTA – Call To Action (ie: button to learn more or sign up). Open Rate – How many times your email was opened. Bounce Rate – Number of emails not being delivered. Hard Bounce – Typically an invalid or blocked address. Soft Bounce – Temporary delivery failure (server error or full mailbox). Conversion Rate – The success rate of someone following through on a specific CTA. Blacklist – Lists that identify spammers and can halt deliverability. KEY TERMS
  11. 11. ANALYTICS: CASE STUDY OPTION A OPTION B CPC: $1.00 Conversion 1/10 = $10 CPL ABS = $15 Annual Purchases: 2 CPC: $2.00 Conversion 1/50 = $100 CPL ABS = $50 Annual Purchases: 3
  12. 12. QUESTIONS? SCOTT PONIEWAZ • SCOTT@PONIEWAZ.ME

×