Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

An article review on

484 views

Published on

  • My struggles with my dissertation were long gone since the day I contacted Emily for my dissertation help. Great assistance by guys from ⇒⇒⇒WRITE-MY-PAPER.net ⇐⇐⇐
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
  • www.HelpWriting.net helped me too. I always order there
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
  • www.HelpWriting.net is a really good site. thanks
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
  • These are one of the best companies for review articles. High quality with cheap rates. ⇒⇒⇒WRITE-MY-PAPER.net ⇐⇐⇐ I highly recommend it :)
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
  • I like this service ⇒ www.HelpWriting.net ⇐ from Academic Writers. I don't have enough time write it by myself.
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here

An article review on

  1. 1. Written by: Guido Schmidt-Traub Published online: 22 Jan 2009. Reviewed by Shree Prasad Devkota Second semester,Development Studies School of Education,Kathmandu University 3/24/2014 1 An Article Review on “The Millennium Development Goals and human rights-based approaches: moving towards a shared approach”
  2. 2. Outline of the Presentation • Introduction • Off-track to achieve the MDGs • Way to achieve the MDGs • Criticism of the MDGs • Complementarity of human rights and the MDGs • HRBAs in support of the MDGs and reflection 3/24/2014 2
  3. 3. Introduction • The Millennium Declaration – MDGs on September 2000 • The Goals as a shared framework- (UN system, governments, private corporations, civil society organizations) • Mid-point to achieve MDGs-2015 • Tremendous progress in Asian countries • Sub-Saharan African countries are out of track • Links between human rights and development communities 3/24/2014 3
  4. 4. Off-track to achieve the MDGs 3/24/2014 4 Off-track to achieve the MDGs
  5. 5. 3/24/2014 5 Way to achieve the MDGs Strong political commitment Improve access to international trade for long term economic development Increased public investment and environmental management infrastructure Way to achieve the MDGs
  6. 6. 3/24/2014 6 Criticism of the MDGs MDGs are incomplete goals with no reference(socia l, economic rights, reprodu ctive health) Accused of lacking ambition to halve poverty by 2015 Focusing on aggregate quantitative objectives Sometimes considered as “technocratic” and “top-down” Criticism of the MDGs
  7. 7. • Relationship between explicit MDGs and norms(economic, social and cultural rights) • Integrated goals map for development needs • Operational, financial and legal issues can be addressed • Effective tool, focuses on need of poor • MDGs and human rights focuses on principles, standards and obligations 3/24/2014 7 Complementarity of human rights and the MDGs
  8. 8. HRBAs in support of the MDGs • Overt recognition and relevance of human rights obligations • Ensuring an appropriate legal framework • Encouraging community participation in realistic and targeted way • Promoting MDG accountability mechanisms • Providing goods and services privately/publicly 3/24/2014 8
  9. 9. Steps to meet MDGs • Interventions to address goods and services for human rights obligations • Governments define and concretise targets as per country's needs - Interventions and coverage targets as per the need(gender, ethnicity) • Government need to quantify human resources, infrastructure and financing • Governments prioritize and sequence interventions • Preparing MDGs based national development strategies 3/24/2014 9
  10. 10. Reflection • Needs of MDGs(only presented table) and table is not clear • Not provide the reason of progress • Forget Sen • MDGs and HRBS cover diversity ?what after 2015? • Shared approach, not analyzed in article • Critical reflection and conclusion 3/24/2014 10
  11. 11. 3/24/2014 11

×