2. What is an Online Advertising?
Online advertising is a form of marketing and advertising which uses
the Internet to deliver promotional marketing messages to consumers,
also know as Online marketing or Internet advertising,
3. TypesofOnline
Advertising
Display Ads
Web Banner Ads
Pop up/ Pop under
Ads
Trick Banners
Floating Ads
Expanding Ads
Pre Roll Ads
Overlay Ad
Search Engine
Optimization
Sponsored Ads
In search ad
In display AdEmail Ads
Mobile Ads
4. CPM (Cost Per Click)
It is also known as Pay per click (PPC). Advertisers pay each time a
user clicks on their listing and is redirected to their website. They
do not actually pay for the listing, but only when the listing is
clicked on.
Purpose: Cost effectiveness and profitability of internet marketing
can be measured. Clicks are a way to measure attention and
interest. The main purpose of an ad is to generate a click.
Cost to an advertiser:
Cost to an advertiser = CPC x No. of Clicks
1) CPC = ₹ 30
2) Number of clicks = 500
= ₹30x500
Cost to an advertiser = ₹1500
5. CPV(Cost Per Visitor)
Cost Per Visitor is online advertising ad model based on where
advertisers pay for the delivery of a targeted visitor to the advertiser’s
website.
Meaning the publisher is only paid when a user goes to a website (or
blog or form, etc).
Cost to an Advertiser = CPV x No. of visit after ad published
1)CPV = ₹60
2) Number of visitors = 250
= ₹60 x 250
CPV(Cost Per Visitor) = ₹ 1500
6. Web banner Ads
A web banner or banner ad is a form of advertising on the World
Wide Web delivered by an ad server. Banner ads can use rich
media to incorporate video, audio, animations, buttons, forms, or
other elements.
Fastest Network Ever
7. Pop-ups/ Pop- unders
A new window which opens in front of the current one,
displaying an advertisement, or entire webpage.
A pop-under ad opens a new browser window under a website
visitor's initial browser window.
8. Trick banners
A banner ad that looks like a dialog box with buttons. It simulates
an error message or an alert.
Floating Ad
An ad which moves across the user's screen or floats above the
content.
The engine’s in the front
But its heart’s in the same
place
9. Expanding ad
An ad which changes size and which may alter the contents of
the webpage.
10. Newsfeed ad
It also called "Sponsored Stories", "Boosted Posts", typically exist
on Social Media Platforms that offer a steady stream of information
updates in regulated formats.
Those advertisements can be of any content, such as promoting a
website, a fan page, an app, or a product.
11. Pre-Roll Ads
Online video commercial that appears prior to an online video, it is
typically 10 - 15 seconds in length. They call it in-stream
advertising.
12. Overlay Ad
It is a graphical ad in the bottom of the video, that displays while
the video plays.
14. Search Engine Optimization
It is a methodology of strategies, techniques and tactics used to
increase the amount of visitors to a website by obtaining a high-
ranking placement in the search results page of a search engine
(SERP) -- including Google, Bing, Yahoo and other search
engines.
Search engines provide sponsored results and organic (non-
sponsored) results based on a web searcher's query
16. TrueView In-Search
Video appears in a special promoted section of the video search
results pages on YouTube and Google video results.
Advertiser pay only when a viewer chooses to watch your video.
17. In-display ads
In-display ads appear as thumbnails among the list of suggested
videos and related videos from which a viewer is currently
watching.
18. Mobile Advertising
It is a form of advertising via mobile (wireless) phones or other
mobile devices
Mobile advertising may take the form of static or rich media
display ads, SMS (Short Message Service) or MMS (Multimedia
Messaging Service)
19. Benefits of Online Advertising
o Coverage: Internet advertising is ideal for businesses with a
national or international target market and large-scale distribution
capabilities.
o Low Cost: The low costs of electronic communication reduce
the cost of displaying online advertisements compared to offline
ads
o Multimedia: Advertisers have a wide variety of ways of
presenting their promotional messages, including the ability to
convey images, video, audio, and links.
o Targeting: Publishers can offer advertisers the ability to reach
customizable and narrow market segments for targeted
advertising.
20. Disadvantage of online advertising
o Ad-blocker: Many advertisement are seen spam and there are
blockers to protect against the ads.
o Unnoticed: Surfers may notice your ads but choose not to click.
o Avoid: Consumers can avoid clicking banner advertisements.
o Too many choices: There are so many websites out there that it
can be hard to identify the ones that will most effectively target
your audience